The Structure of the Kenyan Court System

by | Apr 29, 2016 | Kenya Government, Legal | 0 comments

Having a basic understanding of the Kenyan Court System is integral for anyone residing in or interested in understanding Kenyan society.

In accordance with the Constitution, Kenyan courts operate at two levels, namely, Superior and Subordinate courts.

1. Superior Courts comprise:

            a) Supreme Court,

            b) Court of Appeal,

            c) High Court,

            d) An Employment and Labour Relations Court and;

            e) A court to hear matters concerning the Environment, and the use of, occupation of and title to land.

2. Subordinate Courts comprise:

            a) Magistrates’ Courts

            b) Kadhis Courts

            c) Court Martial, and

            d) Any other court or local Tribunal established by an Act of Parliament


Suggested Reading

Understanding Court Fees

error: Content is protected !!