US Bank Holidays

by | Nov 11, 2016 | Finance, International Trade, Travel | 0 comments

There are ten federal holidays in the United States which also double up as bank holidays. In addition, there is also Inauguration Day celebrated once every four years on January 20 following a presidential election.  Banks in the US follow the holiday calendar of the U.S. Federal Reserve.

The Federal holiday calendar is as follows:

  1. New Year’s Day – January 1
  2. Inauguration Day – January 20
  3. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – Third Monday in January
  4. George Washington’s Birthday – Third Monday in February
  5. Memorial Day – Last Monday in May
  6. Independence Day – July 4
  7. Labor Day – First Monday in September
  8. Columbus Day – Second Monday in October
  9. Veterans Day – November 11
  10. Thanksgiving Day – 4th Thursday in November
  11. Christmas Day – December 25

When a holiday falls on a Saturday, it is observed on the preceding Friday; when it falls on a Sunday, it is observed on the following Monday.

error: Content is protected !!